attention, please!

Lately, on three different occasions, I’ve heard, read or received the words, “Wake up, O sleeper! Rise from the dead and Christ will shine on you.”  Ephesians 5:14

A few days later, “If then you are raised with Christ, set your hearts on the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on the things above, not on earthly things….”  Col 3:1-2

Those exhortations cut through a lot of mental & heart clutter. They got my attention!  For me, the challenges of the ministry can build up and keep me focused there. I can spend a lot more time trying to think out solutions for problems than I do asking the Lord to work them out or listening for His voice. My mistake- thinking that more thought is what is needed.

Dr. Curtis Thompson writes in his book The Anatomy of the Soul, “God built in us the ability to pay attention to what we pay attention to, which creates space for us to hear him; and out of this flows abundant life—testing and approving God’s good, pleasing, and whole will.”

I love that reminder that abundant life flows from Jesus, not from myself, not from my service to Him.  He said, “I have come that they may have life and have it more abundantly.”  Now that He’s got my attention, I want to keep it on Him more and more.

How does God get your attention?

This entry was posted in Still thinking about it and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to attention, please!

  1. cecemom says:

    Your words are thought provoking and ideas I am currently wrestling with. I know that I need to hear God more, and I am trying to walk that path more faithfully.

    • Andrea says:

      me, too! trying to pay attention in the midst of my day, and praying as I’m going for His direction.

      • Sheri Onishi says:

        Yea, me too, doing the Ignatius exercises with a friend and learning the spiritual discipline of ‘examine’ was a huge turning point for me. I really like the quote about what God does when we do pay attention and listen. I also get easily caught up in ‘problem sovlving’ and recently more aware of my attitude that I think too highly of my projects. After all it is not my minisrty but the Lord’s. Meditating on Ps 131 is super helpful. Thanks for sharing, Andrea.

      • Andrea says:

        thanks for the reminder about the “examine” discipline. may need to incorporate that into my day as a new practice.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

