hide and seek

Hide and seek is another childhood game that we played growing up.  It seems to be universal.  Children hide and then try to find one another.  The one who can stay hidden and not be found is the winner. It’s a fun game as a kid, but when people are really looking for something, things that stay hidden cause frustration.

It was one of those days. Fifteen hours in, traveling and tired, I was in a snit about all the things that weren’t working very well.  I was convinced that people didn’t know what they were doing.  Mentally composing a complaint letter to the company. Keeping count of all the things gone wrong. Feeling oh so right.

Later that day, I happened upon John 3:17….in the Amplified Bible.

“For God did not send the Son into the world in order to judge (to reject, to condemn, to pass sentence on) the world, but that the world might find salvation and be made safe and sound through Him.”  (emphasis mine, I mean, the Holy Spirit”s)

A couple weeks ago, in a post called king me!, I asked about how the Word affects your life.  Well, here’s how it affects my life. I was oh so wrong. I was soundly rebuked and repented. My attitude was exactly that –rejecting, condemning and passing judgment.  Would the very people that I was judging be able to see Jesus in me? or be willing to hear about His love & forgiveness? No, they would sense the judgment from just another crabby customer.  How loving was I? Not very.  Not even close.

Oh, Lord, help me to love people like You love them.

Another thought struck me this morning.  My attitudes of judgment and criticism hide Jesus from people’s view.  It’s me that they see when I’m like that, not Him.  I effectively put a bushel basket over the light that is Jesus in me.  He says, “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

I don’t want to play hide and seek with those who are really searching for life that is found in Jesus.  I want to live in a way that He is really shining, easy to find, for those who are looking.

What do you think?  what are other ways that we effectively hide Jesus from those who are looking for Him?

This entry was posted in Following Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hide and seek

  1. Robi says:

    Your words (the Holy Spirit) deeply spoke to my heart through this post. You described me to a T! How I long for others to see Jesus, and see Him in me. Yet, how often I get in the way with my criticalness and compulsion to share my criticisms with others.
    What’s more, the hide and seek game hides Jesus from the world, but it also hides the true me from the world. The me that is broken and hurting and longing for close relationships, but uses criticism as justification and a way to hide away these deep pains and unmet longings I have inside. Using criticism seems to be a way of deflecting what is really going on. How I want to be changed by Jesus! Rather than deflecting, I want to be reflecting His face to others!

    • Andrea says:

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment, Robi. I hadn’t thought about using criticism to hide my real self. I appreciate the insight. The Lord has been taking me a bit deeper on what else I do that hides Him. Perhaps that will be another post… Lord, change us! Amen.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

