too much to do

Today I’m on overload– too much to do, not enough time to do it.

Albert Bridge [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Thoughts of unfinished tasks, decisions to be made, come rushing through my head like a flash flood- unstoppable.  Capturing them on paper only seems to aggravate the feelings.  As I”m pausing to write this down, I’m reminded of two things.

A number of years ago,I watched a skit at a retreat.  It started out with a woman sitting across the table from someone representing Jesus.  They were having a conversation about her day when the phone rang.  Immediately you could tell that there was some crisis that she needed to address.  As she stood up and began pacing around the room, you could see a bag tied to her ankle.  Every step she took the bag just dragged along behind her.  At the same time, the Jesus character walked alongside her, trying to get her attention, tapping her shoulder.  “Not now!” she exclaimed.  “Can’t you see I have so much to do?”

The irony of that picture comes back to me.  The One person who could do something about the weight she was dragging along and the current crisis on the phone was right there- if she would only turn to Him.  “Come to Me, all you who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest,” He says  (Matt 11:28).   It’s the same reality for me and for you today.  Whatever is going on, weighty or not, He is right there and so willing and able.

The second thing is something that author Ney Bailey has said. “If Satan can’t get you to sin, he will drive you through busyness.”  It’s a temptation to think that I can actually get all this done in my own effort.  I would never say so out loud, but that’s the inward pressure, the temptation to believe that it all depends on me. Recognizing the temptation and calling on the Lord in the midst of it changes that inward rushing.  Bringing every concern to Him brings me to a still place, a place of rest.

He leads me besides still waters; He restores my soul. Psalm 23

Today, I need to rest on the fact that God is in control, He knows everything going on around me and in me, and He invites me to come and leave my burdens with Him, including the entire to do list!  I can trust Him with the timing and the pace of things. I think I will do that right now! “Cast your burden on Him, for He cares for you.”

As you’re facing life today, what’s on your list that needs to be on His list?

This entry was posted in Following Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to too much to do

  1. Lori says:

    Timely, Andrea. Thank you.

  2. Miheret says:

    Great Lesson, Thank you Andrea,

  3. Steve Morgan says:

    What is on my list that needs to be on His? Just about everything! Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Phew… I’m feeling better already. It’s great that God is on auto-sync too.

  5. Falen says:

    My issue is when I have a big problem, I have no problem handing it over… It’s usually the little stuff and the things I think I can control that I have a problem handing over. I get caught in the cycle of thinking, “God has more imporant things to worry about than [insert random mundane task here].” I’m learning that everything matters to God, regardless of size. Great Post!

    • Andrea says:

      I hear you, Falen. My default is to try to figure it out– big or small. When I look at the detail that He has put into creation (like Laura is discussing at BeholdingGlory.com this week), it gives me confidence that there is not detail too small for His care. Thanks for coming by.

  6. Oh lovely. What a vivid skit that was. I’ll remember that!

  7. daylerogers says:

    I love the quote from Ney–one I need to keep before me all the time. The truth is, in our outfit that is where I know I fall the quickest, the most frequently. The need for rest–when will I learn? Thanks for the insights, AB!

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

