de-cluttering of a different sort

if I ignore it, will it go away?

Sometimes, I walk into my back bedroom and just want to walk out and close the door.  Unfinished projects, piles of things to give or toss, ideas waiting for action,–just looking at all that stuff makes me tired.

The same thing happens in our hearts, doesn’t it?  Things unattended to in the course of the day pile up and take up space.

  • worries – things that I don’t know what to do with, can’t see an answer, want to get control of, needing wisdom, trust and peace
  • sin- things I wish I hadn’t done to God or others, needing forgiveness
  • hurts- things I wish I hadn’t heard or experienced that bruise my soul, needing comfort
  • distressing news- things that are just wrong, unjust, offensive to a godly value system, needing change

Like the stuff in my back bedroom, if all I do is look at it and turn away, nothing changes. If I ignore the clutter, it does not go away.  Jennifer Kennedy Dean, in her book Live a Praying Life!, says this,

Our job is to allow the Holy Spirit the access He needs to each of our hearts, so He can cleanse them of debris.  The clutter in our hearts throws off its acoustics.

Jesus gives us an amazing invitation,

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”

In that place with Him, we can lay down all our sin, worries, hurts and distresses.  He is the One who has lived life here on earth and sympathizes with our weaknesses.  He is the One who gave His life for us to have access to the Father.  He is the One who is at the right hand of the Father, praying for us. He is the One who can do something with our messes.  The Message version puts it this way:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Cultivating a heart that deals with things as they come up is the most important de-cluttering we can do.  When there’s nothing in the way in our hearts, we can be sensitive to His voice all day long.  That is rest.

What helps you deal with clutter in your heart?

 
linking up with Faith-Filled Fridays  Check out some other great post over at Beholding Glory

This entry was posted in Life Lesson and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to de-cluttering of a different sort

  1. This is just what I need today — it is definitely time for some uncluttering! Thanks so much for visiting and commenting on Saved by Grace! Your blog is a blessing and I am now following it, and I invite you to follow mine Saved by Grace also:
    http://savedbygracebiblestudy.blogspot.com/
    Love in Him,
    Laurie Collett

  2. Thank you for this post. The Lord’s been doing some deep-cleaning in one of my back rooms. It’s messy and not a pleasant process, But He’s teaching me to place my clutter in His capable hands and accept His glorious rest.
    I’m a new follower via FFF and would love to invite you to visit and follow.

    • Andrea Buczynski says:

      Hi, Mary, “deep cleaning” all those little places that are easy to overlook or not even able to see in normal light requires some real attention. Grateful for God and His grace, His ability to clean is better than mine! thanks for the invite and follow!

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

